Watch the New Elbury Video “Past Life Memories”

Image Courtesy of Elbury

Brisbane alt-folk four-piece Elbury today released their brand new video “Past Life Memories”.

The track is taken from Elbury’s upcoming debut album Haunting Ground, due for release on the 1st May this year.

Check out “Past Life Memories” below:

Watch the New Johnny Flynn Video “Wandering Aengus”

Johnny Flynn
Image Courtesy of Johnny Flynn

Another week, another new track from Johnny Flynn. With his new album Sillion due for release next Friday we’ve been gifted with another new single, this time the quirky ballad “Wandering Aengus”.

The track has a brand new video directed by Simon Ryninks – check it out below:

Radical Face Announces Australian Tour Dates

Radical Face
Image Courtesy of Radical Face

US based indie-folk artists Radical Face has been a firm favourite of Timber and Steel‘s since the very beginning so we’re over the moon to hear that he’s heading to Australia for the first time this May and June.

Ben Cooper, AKA Radical Face, finished up his The Family Tree album trilogy last year and has already started releasing new material, releasing his visual EP SunnMoonnEclippse in February.

Radical Face will has announced shows in Melbourne, Sydney, Brisbane, Adelaide and Perth – check out the full list of dates below:

Friday 26th May – Corner Hotel, Melbourne, VIC
Saturday 27th May – Factory Theatre, Sydney, NSW
Sunday 28th May – The Zoo, Brisbane, QLD
Wednesday 31st May – Jive Bar, Adelaide, SA
Thursday 1st June – Badlands, Perth, WA

Timber and Steel Premiere: Joel Barker & The Low Company’s New EP Uncharted

Joel Barker
Image Courtesy of Joel Barker & The Low Company

This Friday Western Australian indie-folkers Joel Barker & The Low Company will be releasing their highly anticipated new EP Uncharted. The EP is a meditation on Barker’s home town of Fremantle, inspired by WA’s port city.

Timber and Steel are super proud to be able to premiere a stream of Uncharted before its release this Friday. Check take a listen below:

To celebrate the release of Uncharted Joel Barker & The Low Company will be launching the EP in Fremantle this Friday at The Odd Fellow followed by a couple of shows around WA over the weekend. The full list of shows are below:

Friday 17th March – The Odd Fellow, Fremantle, WA
Saturday 18th March – Green Door Wines, Ferguson Valley, WA
Sunday 19th March – Bridgetown Pottery Restuarant, Bridgetown, WA

Fleet Foxes Announce Details of New Album

Fleet Foxes
Image Courtesy of Fleet Foxes

The long rumoured new album from indie-folkers Fleet Foxes has finally been announced with the band revealing Crack-Up will be released on the 16th June.

The album comes six years after the release of the amazing Helplessness Blues and the five year hiatus that followed.

The first track from the album is the epic “Third of May/Ōdaigahara” which has been released as a lyric video:

Fleet Foxes have already announced that they’ll be in Australia for VIVID LIVE this year and we’re keeping our fingers crossed for more Australian dates to follow.

The full track listing for Crack-Up is below:

1. I Am All That I Need/Arroyo Seco/Thumbprint Scar
2. Cassius, –
3. – Naiads, Cassadies
4. Kept Woman
5. Third of May/Ōdaigahara
6. If You Need To, Keep Time on Me
7. Mearcstapa
8. On Another Ocean (January/June)
9. Fool’s Errand
10. I Should See Memphis
11. Crack-Up

All Our Exes Live In Texas Announce National Tour

All Our Exes
Image Courtesy of All Our Exes Live In Texas

On Friday Sydney four piece All Our Exes Live In Texas released their amazing debut album When We Fall.

To celebrate, All Our Exes Live In Texas have announced plans to hit the road this June and July with dates all across Australia. Check out the full list of shows below:

Saturday 10th June – Lizottes, Newcastle, NSW
Friday 16th June – Brass Monkey, Cronulla, NSW
Saturday 17th June – Metro Social @ The Metropole, Katoomba, NSW
Friday 23rd June – Jive, Adelaide, SA
Saturday 24th June – Babushka, Perth, WA
Sunday 25th June – Fly By Night, Fremantle, WA
Friday 30th June – Heritage Hotel, Bulli, NSW
Saturday 1st July – Factory Theatre, Sydney, NSW
Friday 7th July – Howler, Melbourne, VIC
Saturday 8th July – Workers Club, Geelong, VIC
Thursday 13th July – Studio 56 @ Miami Marketta, Gold Coast, QLD
Friday 14th July – Bison Bar, Nambour, QLD
Saturday 15th July – Old Museum, Brisbane, QLD

Fleet Foxes Announced As First Artist for VIVID Live 2017

Fleet Foxes
Image Courtesy of Fleet Foxes

Last week Sydney’s VIVID LIVE Festival dropped its first artist for 2017 and it’s time to get excited. After an almost 5 year hiatus indie folk band Fleet Foxes return to Australia for a series of shows at the Sydney Opera House from the 26th to 29th May.

Fleet Foxes will be playing material from their third album which is expected later this year.

“We are unbelievably excited to perform songs from our new album, and to revisit songs from across our catalogue, at the Sydney Opera House in May,” Fleet Foxes vocalist, Robin Pecknold said. “In this time, when all action towards unity is vital, our means of engendering union is through music, collective communal performance, on any stage that will have us, and there is no better stage in the world than the Opera House. We really hope to see you there.”

A ticket ballot for Fleet Foxes at VIVID LIVE went live over the weekend but has since ended. If any mor Australian dates are announced for Fleet Foxes we’ll let you know!

Sam Buckingham Releases New Single and Announces East Coast Tour

Sam Buckingham
Image Courtesy of Sam Buckingham

Indie-folk singer-songwriter and all round Timber and Steel favourite Sam Buckingham has just released her brand new single “The Water”.

Buckingham spent a bunch of time travelling through Latin America where she was writing material for her upcoming album The Water which is due on the 28th April. “The Water” is our first taste of this new music.

“It’s a song about finding a space where you can allow light to come in,” Sam Buckingham explained. “We all experience darkness and difficulty, and that’s an integral part of life – this song is about knowing there’s always somewhere to go to take a breath, connect with yourself and keep walking through.”

Take a listen to “The Water” here:

To celebrate the release of “The Water” Sam Buckingham has announced a handful of east coast tour dates this February – the full list of dates are below:

Wednesday 22nd February – Open Studio, Melbourne, VIC
Friday 24th February – The Newsagency, Sydney, NSW
Sunday 26th February – The Junkbar, Brisbane, QLD

Watch the New Video From The Campervan Dancers “St⭐️rlight (Pickin’ Pears)”

Campervan Dancers
Image Courtesy of The Campervan Dancers

After successfully crowd funding early last year indie-folk duo The Campervan Dancers have been hard at work putting the finishing touches on their upcoming five-track EP.

To give us a taster the duo have released their new single and video “St⭐️rlight (Pickin’ Pears)” which was written all the way back in 2012.

Check out the video to “St⭐️rlight (Pickin’ Pears)” below:

Watch the New Husky Video “Late Night Store”

Image Courtesy of Husky

If you’ve listened to triple j much in the last couple of months you’ve no doubt heard “Late Night Store”, the wonderful new single from Melbourne indie-folk band Husky.

The track is the first taste of Husky’s upcoming third album which will be released at some point this year.

Check out the video for “Late Night Store” below:

« Older entries

%d bloggers like this: