Josh Pyke Adds More Regional Dates to Lone Wolf Tour

Josh Pyke
Image Courtesy of Josh Pyke

Josh Pyke was supposed to have wrapped up his Lone Wolf Tour at the end of last month but it looks like he just can’t get enough of the open road with the announcement of a bunch of regional dates this June. Pyke will be taking in regional venues not normally visited by national touring audiences and will be bringing Jack Carty along in the support slot (except for the NT and WA dates).

Check out the full list of dates below:

Friday 6th June – Montrose Town Centre, Montrose, VIC
Saturday 7th June – The Memo, Healesville, VIC
Friday 13th June – Fannie Bay Gaol, Darwin, NT
Sunday 15th June – Divers Tavern, Broome, WA
Friday 20th June – Empire Church Theatre, Toowoomba, QLD
Saturday 21st June – Majestic Theatre, Pomona, QLD
Sunday 22nd June – Byron Theatre, Byron Bay, NSW
Wednesday 25th June – Jetty Memorial Theatre, Coffs Harbour, NSW
Thursday 26th June – Pier One @ Panthers, Port Macquarie, NSW
Friday 27th June – Manning Entertainment Centre, Taree, NSW
Saturday 28th June – Cessnock Performing Arts Centre, Cessnock, NSW
Saturday 5th July – Milton Theatre, Milton, NSW

Jeff Lang Announces New Album

Jeff Lang
Image Courtesy of Jeff Lang

Jeff Lang is one of the most highly respected roots musicians in Australia at the moment. Along with a number of producing credits over the last few years Lang has been lauded as a master performer and songwriter both critically and publicly. With a back catalogue of 14 studio albums, Jeff Lang is showing no signs of slowing down, announcing plans to release album number 15 later this year.

The album is titled I Live A Lot In My Head These Days and is due for release on the 16th May. To celebrate the release Jeff Lang is heading out on a national tour in June and July – check out the full list of dates below:

Friday 6th June – Nexus Arts Centre, Adelaide, SA
Saturday 7th June – Fly By Night, Fremantle, WA
Sunday 8th June – Ravenswood Hotel, Ravenswood, WA
Thursday 12th June – The Brass Monkey, Cronulla, NSW
Friday 13th June – The Tanks Arts Centre, Cairns, QLD
Saturday 14th June – The Heritage Hotel, Bulli, NSW
Sunday 15th June – Dark MOFO, Hobart, TAS
Wednesday 25th June – Lizottes, Kincumber, NSW
Thursday 26th June – Lizottes, Dee Why, NSW
Friday 27th June – The Basement, Sydney, NSW
Saturday 28th June – Camelot Lounge, Marrickville, NSW
Sunday 29th June – Lizottes, Newcastle, NSW
Friday 4th July – The Caravan Club, Oakleigh, VIC
Saturday 5th July – Thornbury Theatre, Thornbury, VIC
Sunday 6th July – The Old Hepburn Hotel, Hepburn Springs, VIC
Friday 11th July – Mullumbimby Town Hall, Mullumbimby, NSW
Saturday 12th July – Visy Theatre, Brisbane Powerhouse, QLD
Sunday 13th July – The Ruins, Darwin, NT
Friday 18th July – Williamstown RSL, Williamstown, VIC
Saturday 19th July – Street Theatre, Canberra, ACT
Sunday 20th July – Beavs, Geelong, VIC

The Timbers to Launch Debut Album and Tour

The Timbers
Image Courtesy of The Timbers

Adelaide folk four-piece The Timbers have announced plans to released their debut album on the 1st May. The album is titled Lawless and features an eclectic collection of the bands songs, capturing the energy and excitement The Timbers have become known for.

“Lawless is the culmination of years of hard work and the band wanting to draw on the musical adventures we have shared over the past years and putting those experiences and hard work into one full length album,” singer, songwriter and guitarist Simon Basey explained. “Lawless is an energetic assortment of our collective musings over the past couple of years and a real leap forward for us musically as a group.”

To celebrate the release The Timbers are heading out on tour this May – check out the full list of dates below:

Thursday 8th May – Pheonix Bar, Canberra, ACT
Friday 9th May – Albion Hotel, Albury, NSW
Saturday 10th May – Penny Black, Melbourne, VIC
Saturday 17th May – The Jade Monkey, Adelaide, SA

The Waifs Return for a National Tour

The Waifs
Image Courtesy of The Waifs

Much loved Australian folk band The Waifs have announced plans for a national tour this May, returning to the stage after a number of years away. Vicki and Donna Simpson from the band have been touring recently as The Stray Sisters but this upcoming tour will see them reunite with guitarist and songwriter Josh Cunningham.

The last time I saw The Waifs was at the 2011 Blue Mountains Folk Festival and the gig was absolutely magic. I reckon this tour is going to be more of the same. Tickets are on sale now – the full list of dates is below:

Wednesday 21st May – Bunbury Regional Entertainment Centre, Bunbury, WA
Thursday 22nd May – Astor Theatre, Perth, WA
Saturday 24th May – Jim Hughes Amphitheatre, Kununurra, WA
Tuesday 27th May – 170 Russell, Melbounre, VIC
Wednesday 28th May – Metro Theatre, Sydney, NSW
Thursday 29th May – Tanks Arts Centre, Cairns, QLD

The Full Dates for Lindi Ortega’s First Australian Tour

Lindi Ortega
Image Courtesy of Lindi Ortega

Canadian singer-songwriter Lindi Ortega is considered one of the most exciting new acts in contemporary country music and she’s about to touch down in Australia. Already announced on the Gum Ball, Boogie Festival and National Folk Festival lineups, Lindi Ortega will also be performing a handful of solo shows while she’s in the country, supporting the release of her new album Tin Star.

Check out the full list of Lindi Ortega’s Australian dates below:

Saturday 12th April – Gumball Festival, Hunter Valley, NSW
Tuesday 15th April – Armidale Club, Armidale, NSW
Thursday 17th to Saturday 19th April – National Folk Festival, ACT
Sunday 20th April – Boogie Festival, Tullarook, VIC
Tuesday 22nd April – The Toff In Town, Melbourne, VIC
Thursday 24th April – Brighton Up Bar, Sydney, NSW

Laura & Susie Announce East Coast Tour

Laura and Susie
Image Courtesy of Laura & Susie

Sydney sister duo Laura & Susie will be taking their brand new debut album Meremba out on the road this month with a string of dates through New South Wales, Victoria and the ACT this month. Laura & Susie blend the worlds of celtic and Americana music with the modern folk of artists like Regina Spektor and Joanna Newsom into something very special and these shows are not to be missed.

Check out the full list of dates below:

Friday 11th April – Arts Space, Wodonga, VIC
Saturday 12th April – Farouk’s Olive, Melbourne, VIC
Thursday 17th to Monday 21st April – National Folk Festival, Canberra, ACT
Wednesday 23rd April – Smith’s Alternative Bookshop, Canberra, ACT
Friday 25th April – Django Bar, Sydney, NSW
Saturday 26th April – Carrington Hotel, Katoomba, NSW
Sunday 27th April – The Rhythm Hut, Gosford, NSW

Folk in a Box Returns to Australia This Weekend

Folk in a Box
Image Courtesy of Folk In A Box

If you were one of the lucky punters to catch a show in Folk In A Box during the Sydney Festival this year you’ll know just how special experience the world’s smallest venue can be. And it’s on its way back to Australia.

The premise for Folk In A Box is simple. A single artist performs to a single audience member inside a box (like the one above) in near darkness. The experience is a sensory delight, taking you to a really magical place and is so unique.

Folk In A Box will be visiting Perth this weekend as part of the FORM Public House event. The venue will be open from 6 to 11pm tonight and then 3 to 11pm tomorrow night.

For more information check out the official Facebook event for the FORM Public House here.

Details of the New Drawn from Bees EP, Web of Thieves

Drawn From Bees
Image Courtesy of Drawn From Bees

Brisbane indie three-piece Drawn From Bees have recently announced plans for the release of their brand new EP Web of Thieves. Set to be released on the 2nd May, the EP is a return to form for Drawn From Bees with luscious harmonies, beautiful, guitar driven songs and crisp production.

The first single from Web of Thieves is “Calling You Out” – take a listen below:

Drawn From Bees will be heading out for a handful of shows in their home town this May to launch Web of Thieves. The dates are as follows:

Saturday 17th May – Studio 188, Ipswich, QLD
Friday 23rd May – Queen St Mall, Brisbane, QLD
Sunday 25th May – Black Bear Lodge, Brisbane, QLD

Little Bastard Announce National Tour

Little Bastard
Image Courtesy of Little Bastard

With their self-titled debut album on the way (due the 9th May) it’s probably no surprise that Little Bastard are about to hit the road for a massive national tour. The Sydney seven-piece will be taking in dates in WA, QLD, VIC and NSW this June and July – check out the full list of shows below:

Thursday 12th June – Rad (Yours & Owls), Wollongong, NSW
Friday 13th June – Newtown Social Club, Sydney, NSW
Saturday 14th June – Small Ballroom, Newcastle, NSW
Thursday 19th June – Prince Of Wales, Bunbury, WA
Friday 20th June – Settlers Tavern, Margaret River, WA
Saturday 21st June – Mojo’s, Fremantle, WA
Thursday 3rd July – Karova Lounge, Ballarat, VIC
Friday 4th July – Northcote Social Club, Melbourne, VIC
Saturday 5th July – Baha’s, Rye, VIC
Thursday 10th July – Black Bear Lodge, Brisbane, QLD
Friday 11th July – Sol Bar, Maroochydore, QLD
Saturday 12th July – Railway Friendly Bar, Byron Bay, NSW
Sunday 13th July – No. 5 Church St, Bellingen, NSW

Dustin Tebbutt Announces Tour Dates

Dustin Tebbutt
Image Courtesy of Dustin Tebbutt

Having just released his brand single “Bones” (which I keep hearing everywhere) Dustin Tebbutt has just announced plans to hit the road.

Taking in dates in Sydney, Melbourne and Brisbane with The Tambourine Girls in support and a gig in Adelaide with Timberwolf, we highly recommend getting to one of these shows – Tebbutt’s star is on the rise and he won’t be playing in venues this intimate for much longer.

Check out the full list of dates below:

Thursday 8th May – Pirie Social Club, Adelaide, SA
Friday 16th May – Northcote Social Club, Melbourne, VIC
Thursday 22nd May – Newtown Social Club, Sydney, NSW
Friday 23rd May – Alhambra Lounge, Brisbane, QLD

« Older entries

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 309 other followers

%d bloggers like this: