Old Man Luedecke Announces Australian Tour Dates

Old Man Luedecke
Image Courtesy of Old Man Luedecke

Canadian folk singer Old Man Luedecke has listed a bunch of Australian dates on his official site confirming he’ll be back in the country from the end of this month.

Old Man Luedecke will kick off his tour at the Planting Festival in Woodford before making his way up and down the East Coast. Check out the dates announced so far here:

Friday 29th April to Sunday 1st May – Planting Festival, Woodford, QLD
Monday 2nd May – Upwey/Belgrave RSL, Melbourne, VIC
Thursday 5th May – Spotted Mallad, Melbourne, VIC
Friday 6th May – Mountain Mumma Restaurant, Sheffield, TAS
Saturday 7th May – Brookfield Winery, Margate, TAS
Tuesday 10th May – Sunset Studio, Newcastle, NSW
Wednesday 11th May – The Gaelic Club, Sydney, NSW
Friday 13th May – Illawara Folk Club, Bulli, NSW
Saturday 14th May – White Eagle Polish Club, Canberra, ACT
Sunday 15th May – Hotel Blue (Live at the Attic), Katoomba, NSW


Winterbourne Announce New EP and Reveal New Single

Winterbourne
Image Courtesy of Winterbourne

Sydney based nu-folk duo Winterbourne have been hard at work on a brand new EP over the last little while and they’ve just announced the release details.

Titled Pendulum, the EP will feature six brand new tracks and will be released on the 27th May.

The first single from Pendulum is the rocking new track “Shape” – take a listen to it here:

To celebrate the release of Pendulum Winterbourne will be heading out on tour this June. The full list of dates are below:

Saturday 30th April – The Planting Festival, Woodford, QLD
Friday 10th June – Ed Castle, Adelaide, SA
Saturday 11th June – Jimmy’s Den, Perth, WA
Saturday 18th June – Oxford Art Factory, Sydney, NSW
Friday 24th June – Shebeen Bandroom, Melbourne, VIC
Friday 1st July – Black Bear Lodge, Brisbane, QLD

The Paper Kites Announce National Tour

Paper Kites
Image Courtesy of The Paper Kites

Australian indie-folkers The Paper Kites have just released their new video “Renegade” and announced dates for a national tour.

Taken from their amazing 2015 album twelvefour, “Renegade” is both visually stunning and instantly catchy – check out the video below:

The Paper Kites will be heading out on their Midnight tour this June and July – the full list of dates are as follows:

Thursday 23rd June – Enmore Theatre, Sydney, NSW
Friday 24th June – Athenaeum Theatre, Melbourne, VIC
Saturday 25th June – The Tivoli, Brisbane, QLD
Friday 1st July – Astor Theatre, Perth, WA
Saturday 2nd July – Norwood Town Hall, Adelaide, SA

Josh Pyke Announces Regional Tour

Josh Pyke
Image Courtesy of Josh Pyke

Having finished his recent capital cities tour in February singer-songwriter Josh Pyke is looking to take his new album But For All These Shrinking Hearts regionally with a bunch of tour dates through June this year.

The dates will also see Pyke team with former tour mate Jack Carty in support from the 10th June.

Check out the full list of shows plus the new video for “Songlines” below:

Thursday 26th May – Darwin Entertainment Centre, Darwin, NT
Thursday 2nd June – Waves, Wollongong, NSW
Friday 3rd June – Laycock Theatre, Gosford NSW
Saturday 4th June – Pier One @ Panthers, Port Macquarie, NSW
Sunday 5th June – Jetty Theatre, Coffs Harbour, NSW
Friday 10th June – Tanks Arts Centre, Cairns, QLD
Saturday 11th June – Dalrymple Hotel, Townsville, QLD
Sunday 12th June – Magnums, Airlie Beach, QLD
Thursday 16th June – Hotel Brunswick, Brunswick Heads, NSW
Friday 17th June – Live at The Helm, Mooloolaba, QLD
Saturday 18th June – Redland Bay Hotel, Redland Bay, QLD
Sunday 19th June – Blue Mountain Hotel, Toowoomba, QLD
Thursday 23rd June – Saloon Bar, Traralgon, VIC
Friday 24th June – Chelsea Heights Hotel, Chelsea Heights, VIC
Saturday 25th June – Village Green Hotel, Mulgrave, VIC
Sunday 26th June – Westernport Hotel, San Remo, VIC
Thursday 21st July – Prince of Wales, Bunbury, WA
Friday 22nd July – White Star Hotel, Albany, WA
Saturday 23rd July – Dunsborough Tavern, Dunsborough, WA
Sunday 24th July – Northshore Tavern, Hilarys, WA
Thursday 28th July – Tapas Lounge Bar, Devonport, TAS
Friday 29th July – Country Club Showroom, Launceston, TAS
Saturday 30th July – Waratah Hotel, Hobart TAS
Thursday 4th August – Home Tavern, Wagga Wagga, NSW
Friday 5th August – Kinross Woolshed Hotel, Kinross, NSW
Saturday 6th August – Karova Lounge, Ballarat, VIC
Sunday 7th August – Whalers Hotel, Warrnambool, VIC
Wednesday 10th August – Lizottes, Newcastle, NSW
Friday 12th August – Baroque Bar, Carrington Hotel, Katoomba, NSW
Saturday 13th August – Milton Theatre, Milton, NSW

Listen to the New Claude Hay Single “Love No More” Plus May Tour Dates

Claude Hay
Image Courtesy of Claude Hay

New South Wales troubadour Claude Hay returns to a rootsier place with his brand new single “Love No More”. The single is filled with slide guitar and call and response melodies and best of all Hay is giving you the chance to download it free.

Check out “Love No More” and download it below:

To celebrate the release of “Love No More” Claude Hay is heading out on tour this May – the full list of dates are here:

Thursday 5th May – The Brass Monkey, Cronulla, NSW
Friday 6th May – Lazybones Lounge, Sydney, NSW
Saturday 7th May – The Stag and Hunter, Newcastle, NSW
Sunday 8th May – Towradgi Beach Hotel, Towradgi, NSW
Thursday 12th May – The Golden Vine Hotel, Bendigo, VIC
Friday 13th May – The Spotted Mallard, Melbourne, VIC
Saturday 14th May – The Blues Train, Queenscliff, VIC
Thursday 19th May – The Grand Junction Hotel, Maitland, NSW
Friday 20th May – Finnian’s Irish Tavern, Port Macquarie, NSW
Saturday 21st May – The Federal Hotel, Bellingen, NSW
Sunday 22nd May – The Rails, Byron Bay, NSW
Friday 27th May – The Milk Factory, Brisbane, QLD
Saturday 28th May – Solbar, Maroochydore, QLD
Saturday 4th June – The Agrestic Grocer, Orange, NSW
Saturday 18th June – The Winter Magic Festival, Katoomba, NSW

The Dead Maggies Queensland, Victoria and Tasmania Dates

Dead Maggies
Image Courtesy of The Dead Maggies

Tasmanian folk punk band The Dead Maggies are hitting the road this month for a bunch of tour dates in Queensland, Victoria and their home state.

The Dead Maggies are touring off the back of their recent album Well Hanged. The tour has been dubbed the Lock out the Drunks, Lock in the Punks tour to “pay homage to all the great local venues, bookers, promoters and artists that have been affected by two state enforced lockout laws”.

Check out the full list of dates below:

Thursday 14th April – Pub Paradise, Macleay Island, QLD
Friday 15th April – Currumbin Creek Tavern, Gold Coast, QLD
Saturday 16th April – Beetle Bar, Brisbane, QLD
Sunday 17th April – Lefty’s Old Time Music Hall, Brisbane, QLD
Friday 22nd April – Barwon Club, Geelong, VIC
Saturday 23rd April – Westernport Hotel, San Remo, VIC
Sunday 24th April – The Tote, Melbourne, VIC
Sunday 24th April – Whole Lotta Love, Melbourne, VIC
Friday 29th April – The Brisbane Hotel, Hobart, TAS
Saturday 30th April – Fresh on Charles, Launceston, TAS

Joe Mungovan’s Way Down South Tour Dates

Joe Mungovan
Image Courtesy of Joe Mungovan

Kiama based singer-songwriter Joe Mungovan released his wonderful EP Way Down South in the middle of March and is about to head out on a massive national tour over the next few months.

Joe Mungovan has been getting quite a bit of buzz recently with Way Down South debuting at #2 on the iTunes singer-songwriter charts – this tour is a great chance to catch a truly up and coming songwriter.

Check out the full list of dates below:

Saturday 16th April – The Heritage Hotel, Bulli, NSW
Friday 22nd April – No. 5 Church Street, Bellingen, NSW
Saturday 23rd April – Queen Street Mall Stage, Brisbane, QLD
Sunday 24th April – Epiphany Coffee, Gympie, NSW
Friday 29th April – House Concert, Holgate, NSW
Saturday 30th April – House Concert, Newcastle, NSW
Saturday 7th May – Front Bar and Gallery, Canberra, ACT
Sunday 8th May – The Birdhouse, Wagga Wagga, NSW
Friday 13th May – Billyroy’s Blues Bar Bendigo, Bendigo, VIC
Saturday 14th May – Babushka Bar, Ballarat, VIC
Thursday 19th May – Beav’s Bar, Geelong, VIC
Friday 20th May – The Loft, Warnnambool, VIC
Thursday 26th May – Open Studio, Melbourne, VIC
Thursday 2nd May – The Exeter Hotel, Adelaide, SA
Friday 10th June – Cafe Gunyah, Milton, NSW
Saturday 18th June – House Concert, Hobart, TAS
Sunday 19th June – Marakoopa Cafe, Mayberry, TAS
Thursday 23rd June – Django Bar, Sydney, NSW
Friday 24th June – House Concert, Perth, WA
Saturday 25th June – Good Nights, Bunbury, WA
Sunday 3rd July – Little Village, Margaret River, WA

Watch the New Melody Pool Video “Love, She Loves Me” Plus Details of the New Album

Melody Pool
Image Courtesy of Melody Pool

Alt-country singer-songwriter Melody Pool has long been a firm favourite of Timber and Steel – we picked her song “Henry” as our top track of 2013.

Pool’s been pretty quiet of late as she works on her upcoming album Deep Dark Savage Heart, due on the 29th April – but of course with an imminent album release that’s all about to change.

“I feel like I’ve really stood my ground with this record,” explains Melody Pool. “I didn’t ever expect to make an album filled with pop hits. It’s always going to be me playing guitar and singing the truth. I’m really proud of this album. It really shows where I’m at – or where I was at – and how I wanted it to turn out.”

The first taster of Deep Dark Savage Heart is the stunning single and video “Love, She Loves Me” (which we warn you contains a few naughty words). Check out the video here:

Melody Pool will be heading out on tour this May – the full list of dates are here:

Friday 13th May – Shadow Electric, Melbourne, VIC
Wednesday 18th May – Grand Junction Hotel, Maitland, NSW Thursday 19th May – 5 Sawyers, Newcastle, NSW
Friday 20th May – Paddington Uniting Church, Sydney, NSW
Saturday 21st May – Front Gallery, Canberra, ACT
Thursday 26th May – Old Museum, Brisbane, QLD
Sunday 29th May – Trinity Sessions, Adelaide, SA

Listen to the New Rowena Wise Single “Then We Met” plus Launch Shows

Rowena Wise
Photo by Sarah Turier

Melbourne based singer-songwriter Rowena Wise just capped off a successful outing at this year’s National Folk Festival (that’s her on stage at The Scrumpy above) and is about to embark on a single launch tour.

Wise has been hard at work on her self titled album which will hit stands around August this year. The new single from the album is the glorious, catchy, quirky folk-pop track “Then We Met” – check it out below:

To celebrate the release of “Then We Met” Rowena Wise has announced shows in Sydney, Melbourne, Hobart and Adelaide from the middle of this month – the full dates are below:

Thursday 14th April – Django Bar, Sydney, NSW
Saturday 16th April – The Toff In Town, Melbourne, VIC
Sunday 17th April – The Homestead, Hobart, TAS
Friday 22nd April – The Wheatsheaf Hotel, Adelaide, SA

Devon Sproule Announces Return To Australia

Devon Sproule
Image Courtesy of Devon Sproule

Acclaimed North American artist Devon Sproule has announced plans to return to Australia after visiting us back in 2014. Sproule will be touring throughout the country with spots at the Fairbridge Folk Festival and Gum Ball along with a bunch of headline dates.

Check out the full list of shows below:

Friday 15th to Sunday 17th April – Fairbridge Folk Festival, Pinjarra, WA
Tuesday 19th April – The Grace Emily, Adelaide, SA
Wednesday 20th April – Smiths Alternative, Canberra, ACT
Thursday 21st April – Gasoline Pony, Sydney, NSW
Saturday 23rd April – The Gum Ball Festival, Dashville, NSW
Saturday 23rd April – No 5 Church Street, Bellingen, NSW
Sunday 24th April – Ex-services Club, Mullumbimby, NSW
Monday 25th April – Queen Street Mall Stage, Brisbane, QLD
Wednesday 27th April – The Milk Factory, Brisbane, QLD
Friday 29th April – The Wesley Anne, Melbourne, VIC

« Older entries

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 404 other followers

%d bloggers like this: