Kaurna Cronin Announces New Album and Tour

Kaurna Cronin
Image Courtesy of Kaurna Cronin

Adelaide based singer-songwriter and Timber and Steel favourite Kaurna Cronin has just announced plans to release his second studio album Southern Loss.

The album is being billed as Cronin’s homage to Australia and is due for release on the 5th August. The first single from the album is the wonderful “Passion Parade” – check it out below:

Kaurna Cronin has announced plans to head out on tour through June – the full list of dates are as follows:

Saturday 11th June – The Evelyn Hotel, Melbourne, VIC
Sunday 19th June – The Grace Emily, Adelaide, SA
Friday 24th June – Hibernian House, Sydney, NSW
Saturday 25th June – Hotel Steyne, Sydney, NSW
Sunday 26th June – Smith’s Alternative, Canberra, ACT

Sweet Jean Announce National Tour

Sweet Jean
Image Courtesy of Sweet Jean

With a brand new album, Monday To Friday, released on the 13th May it was inevitable that Melbourne duo Sweet Jean would be hitting the road for a national tour.

Sweet Jean have announced a bunch of dates this July and August taking in dates in Victoria, New South Wales, Queensland and South Australia. Check out the full list of shows below:

Friday 1st July – Music on The Hill, Red Hill, VIC
Friday 8th to Sunday 10th July – Bello Winter Music Festival, Bellingen, NSW
Friday 15th July – Skukum Lounge, Ashgrove, QLD
Saturday 16th July – Mullum Ex Services Club, Mullumbimby, NSW
Thursday 21st July – Bridge Hotel, Castlemaine, VIC
Sunday 24th July – Wheatsheaf Hotel, Thebarton, SA
Saturday 30th July – Northcote Social Club, Northcote, VIC
Thursday 4th August – Brighton Up Bar, Darlinghurst, NSW
Saturday 6th August – Caravan Music Club, Oakleigh, VIC

Jack Carty Announces New Album and Tour with Emily Barker and Jordan Millar

Jack Carty
Image Courtesy of Jack Carty

Singer-songwriter and long time Timber & Steel favourite Jack Carty has just managed to successfully crowd-funded his brand new album Home State.

The album, due for release on the 5th August, was recorded by Carty in his little apartment in Red Hill, Brisbane.

The first single from Home State is the beautiful “All At Once” – check out the video below:

To celebrate the release of Home State Jack Carty has announced a national tour this August and September with Emily Barker and Jordan Millar in support. The full list of dates are as follows:

Friday 19th August – Street Theatre, Canberra, ACT
Saturday 20th August – Newtown Social Club, Sydney, NSW
Friday 26th August – Shebeen Bandroom, Melbourne, VIC
Saturday 27th August – The Grace Emily, Adelaide, SA
Sunday 28th August – Mojos Barm Fremantle, WA
Friday 2nd September – The Milk Factory, Brisbane, QLD

Listen to the New Josh Rennie-Hynes Single “Rosie”

Josh Rennie Hynes
Image Courtesy of Josh Rennie-Hynes

Queensland singer-songwriter Josh Rennie-Hynes has just released his highly anticipated new single “Rosie”. The track was written following a tour of New Zealand.

“I had a few days off in Wellington, where I was staying at my Cousin’s house, spending a few days with his housemate Rosie, a lovely girl who had been going through a tough time with depression,” Rennie-Hynes explained. “I wrote this song for her, just to say that it’s all gonna be alright, there’s a light at the end of the tunnel.”

Check out “Rosie” here:

Josh Rennie-Hynes has a bunch of capital city shows this June – here’s the full list of dates:

Friday 10th June – The Wheatsheaf Hotel, Adelaide, SA
Saturday 11th June – The Yarra Hotel, Melbourne, VIC
Sunday 12th June – Lazybones Lounge, Sydney, NSW
Saturday 18th June – Black Bear Lodge, Brisbane, QLD

Foy Vance Announces Australian Tour Dates

Foy Vance
Image Courtesy of Foy Vance

Irish singer-songwriter Foy Vance has visited Australia a couple of times over the past few years but its only been in recent months that his star has started to rise here. So its very exciting that he’s on his way back to tour his third album The Wild Swan, due this Friday 13th May.

The tour kicks off this September. Check out the full list of dates plus the new Foy Vance single and video “She Burns” below:

Saturday 10th September – Mojo’s Bar, Perth WA
Monday 12th September – Corner Hotel, Melbourne, VIC
Wednesday 14th September – The Basement, Sydney, NSW
Thursday 15th September – Oxford Art Factory, Sydney, NSW
Satursay 17th September – The Zoo, Brisbane, QLD

Chaika Announce East Coast Tour

Chaika
Image Courtesy of Chaika

Sydney world music six piece Chaika are hard at work on their highly anticipated third album and have decided to head out on tour this month to show off some of the new material.

Chaika a well known for blending the traditional with unique original music and these shows are not to be missed. Check out the full list of shows below:

Thursday 12th May – Sutherland Acoustic, Gymea, NSW
Friday 13th May – Smith’s Alternative, Canberra, ACT
Saturday 14th May – Berrima Smalls, Berrima, NSW
Sunday 15th May – Jane’s, Wollongong, NSW
Thursday 19th May – Camelot Lounge, Sydney, NSW
Friday 20th May – The Unorthodox Church of Groove, Newcastle, NSW
Saturday 21st May – Wauchope Hall, Wauchope, NSW
Sunday 22nd May – The Rhythm Hut, Gosford, NSW

Jake Bugg Announces Splendour Sideshows

Jake Bugg
Photo by Sarah Turier

When Splendour in the Grass hits Byron Bay in July one of the acts to look out for is English singer-songwriter Jake Bugg. No stranger to our shores, and no stranger to Splendour, Bugg will be bringing with him his upcoming album On My Own (due on the 17th June) and has announced a bunch of sideshows with the UK’s Blossoms in support in Sydney and Melbourne.

Check out the full list of dates below:

Friday 22nd July to Sunday 24th July – Splendour in the Grass, NSW
Tuesday 26th July – State Theatre, Sydney, NSW
Wednesday 27th July – Palais Theatre, Melbourne, VIC
Friday 29th July – Metro City, Perth, WA

Old Man Luedecke Announces Australian Tour Dates

Old Man Luedecke
Image Courtesy of Old Man Luedecke

Canadian folk singer Old Man Luedecke has listed a bunch of Australian dates on his official site confirming he’ll be back in the country from the end of this month.

Old Man Luedecke will kick off his tour at the Planting Festival in Woodford before making his way up and down the East Coast. Check out the dates announced so far here:

Friday 29th April to Sunday 1st May – Planting Festival, Woodford, QLD
Monday 2nd May – Upwey/Belgrave RSL, Melbourne, VIC
Thursday 5th May – Spotted Mallad, Melbourne, VIC
Friday 6th May – Mountain Mumma Restaurant, Sheffield, TAS
Saturday 7th May – Brookfield Winery, Margate, TAS
Tuesday 10th May – Sunset Studio, Newcastle, NSW
Wednesday 11th May – The Gaelic Club, Sydney, NSW
Friday 13th May – Illawara Folk Club, Bulli, NSW
Saturday 14th May – White Eagle Polish Club, Canberra, ACT
Sunday 15th May – Hotel Blue (Live at the Attic), Katoomba, NSW


Winterbourne Announce New EP and Reveal New Single

Winterbourne
Image Courtesy of Winterbourne

Sydney based nu-folk duo Winterbourne have been hard at work on a brand new EP over the last little while and they’ve just announced the release details.

Titled Pendulum, the EP will feature six brand new tracks and will be released on the 27th May.

The first single from Pendulum is the rocking new track “Shape” – take a listen to it here:

To celebrate the release of Pendulum Winterbourne will be heading out on tour this June. The full list of dates are below:

Saturday 30th April – The Planting Festival, Woodford, QLD
Friday 10th June – Ed Castle, Adelaide, SA
Saturday 11th June – Jimmy’s Den, Perth, WA
Saturday 18th June – Oxford Art Factory, Sydney, NSW
Friday 24th June – Shebeen Bandroom, Melbourne, VIC
Friday 1st July – Black Bear Lodge, Brisbane, QLD

The Paper Kites Announce National Tour

Paper Kites
Image Courtesy of The Paper Kites

Australian indie-folkers The Paper Kites have just released their new video “Renegade” and announced dates for a national tour.

Taken from their amazing 2015 album twelvefour, “Renegade” is both visually stunning and instantly catchy – check out the video below:

The Paper Kites will be heading out on their Midnight tour this June and July – the full list of dates are as follows:

Thursday 23rd June – Enmore Theatre, Sydney, NSW
Friday 24th June – Athenaeum Theatre, Melbourne, VIC
Saturday 25th June – The Tivoli, Brisbane, QLD
Friday 1st July – Astor Theatre, Perth, WA
Saturday 2nd July – Norwood Town Hall, Adelaide, SA

« Older entries

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 409 other followers

%d bloggers like this: