Jack Carty and Jordan Millar Announce Intimate + By Request National Tour

Jack Carty
Image Courtesy of Jack Carty

Following the success of a couple of intimate shows in Sydney in March singer-songwriters Jack Carty and Jordan Millar are jumping back in the van for a series of shows this August. The Intimate + By Request show will see Carty and Millar doing what they do best in small venues all around the country.

Check out the full list of dates below – and get in quick because these shows are bound to sell out very very quickly:

Saturday 1st August – The Ellington Jazz Club, Perth, WA
Thursday 6th August – The Commons, Newcastle, NSW
Friday 7th August – The Street Theatre, Canberra, ACT
Saturday 8th August – Venue 505, Sydney, NSW
Friday 14th August – The Milk Factory, Brisbane, QLD
Saturday 15th August – Rous Mill Hall, Rous Mill, NSW
Thursday 20th August – Grace Emily Hotel, Adelaide, SA
Friday 21st August – Grace Darling Hotel, Melbourne, VIC
Saturday 22nd August – The Grand Poobah, Hobart, TAS

Jed Rowe Announces Tour with Alison Ferrier

Jed Rowe
Image Courtesy of Jed Rowe

Both Jed Rowe and Alison Ferrier are about to release album produced by Jeff Lang and featuring The StillsonsThe Last Day of Winter (29th May) and Be Here Now (5th June) respectively – so it makes sense that the two Melbourne singer-songwriters have planned a joint tour in July.

The tour will take the singers through New South Wales, Queensland and Victoria with Rowe supplementing it with a couple of solo shows as well. Check out the full list of dates below along with an exclusive stream of the new Jed Rowe track “Fire”:

Friday 12th June – Selby Folk Club, Selby VIC*
Friday 19th June – Basement Discs, Melbourne VIC*
Wednesday 1st July – The Front, Canberra NSW
Thursday 2nd July – The Union, Sydney NSW
Friday 3rd July – Treehouse on Belongil, Byron Bay NSW
Saturday 4th July – City Sounds at Queens St Mall, Brisbane QLD
Sunday 5th July – City Sounds at Brisbane Square, Brisbane QLD
Sunday 5th July – Lefty’s Old Time Music Hall, Brisbane QLD
Thursday 9th July – 5 Church St, Bellingen NSW
Friday 10th July – Wauchope Arts, Wauchope NSW
Saturday 11th July – McCrossin Mill, Uralla NSW
Sunday 12th July – The Junkyard, Maitland NSW
Saturday 1st August – Bella Union, Melbourne VIC
Friday 21st August – Ararat Live, Ararat VIC*
Saturday 22nd August – The Wheatsheaf, Adelaide SA*
Sunday 23rd August – Red Poles, McLaren Vale SA*
*Jed Rowe solo

Some of Folk’s Best Come Together for Rubber Soul and Revolver Tribute Concert Series

Rubber Soul

This July and August some of Timber and Steel’s favourite singers are coming together to pay tribute to two of the most celebrated Beatles albums – Rubber Soul and Revolver.

Marlon Williams, Husky Gawenda (Husky), Jordie Lane and Fergus Linacre (Kingswood) will take to the stage in Melbourne, Sydney, Adelaide, Brisbane, Perth and Canberra to perform the albums back to back.

“If it wasn’t for my school friend introducing The Beatles’ music to me when I was 10, I don’t think I would have become a singer and songwriter,” Jordie Lane explained. “Their influence on me was really that important.”

To hear these artists cover classic tracks like “Drive My Car”, “Nowhere Man”, “Norwegian Wood”, “Yellow Submarine”, “Eleanor Rigby” and more check out the full list of dates below:

Thursday 30th July – Concert Hall, QPAC, Brisbane, QLD
Saturday 1st August – Riverside Theatre, Perth, WA
Sunday 2nd August – Festival Theatre, Adelaide, SA
Tuesday 4th August – Hamer Hall, Melbourne, VIC
Wednesday 5th August – Hamer Hall, Melbourne, VIC
Thursday 6th August- Canberra Theatre, Canberra, ACT
Friday 7th August – Sydney Opera House, Sydney, NSW
Saturday 8th August – Sydney Opera House, Sydney, NSW

Sal Kimber & The Rollin’ Wheel Announce Single Launch Tour

Sal Kimber
Image Courtesy of Sal Kimber & The Rollin’ Wheel

Melbourne folk favourites Sal Kimber & The Rollin’ Wheel have been working on some new music and they’re about to reveal their new single “Stumble in the Dark”. The single will be the first taste of an upcoming album that Sal Kimber & The Rollin’ Wheel are promising is “a lot more intimate than the upbeat rockers you might be used to”.

To celebrate the release of “Stumble in the Dark” Sal Kimber & The Rollin’ Wheel will be touring through June – check out the full list of dates below:

Friday 12th June – Gasometer, Melbourne, VIC
Saturday 13th June – Red Hot Music, Devonport, TAS
Sunday 14th June – Newtown Social Club, Sydney, NSW
Thursday 18th June – Black Bear Lodge, Brisbane, QLD
Friday 19th June – Ex-Services Club, Mullumbimby, NSW
Saturday 20th June – Barossa Regional Art Gallery, Tanunda, SA
Sunday 21st June – Vinyl, Adelaide, SA

Watch the New Forest Falls Video “Hounds”

Forest Falls
Image Courtesy of Forest Falls

Melbourne based indie-folk six-piece Forest Falls recently realeased their new EP Hounds. That EP also comes with a brand new video for the title track which is full of all sorts of indie-folk goodness – check it out below:

Forest Falls have a bunch of live dates coming up in Melbourne and Sydney – check them out here:

Wednesday 13th May – Workers Club, Melbourne, VIC
Thursday 14th May – Bondi Bowling Club, Sydney, NSW
Saturday 16th May – Gaelic Club, Sydney, NSW
Wednesday 20th May – Workers Club, Melbourne, VIC
Wednesday 27th May – Workers Club, Melbourne, VIC

Alison Ferrier Announces New Album Be Here Now

Alison Ferrier
Image Courtesy of Alison Ferrier

Melbourne alt-country singer Alison Ferrier has announced her brand new album Be Here Now, her first release since 2012’s Sugar Baby.

The album was produced by the amazing Jeff Lang and will be released on the 5th June. The album also features Ferrier with a full band, enlisting the help of Melbourne band The Stillsons (Cat Canteri on drums and harmonies, Justin Bernasconi on guitar and harmonies and Ben Franz on bass and pedal steel).

Passenger Announced as Support For Ed Sheeran Tour

Passenger
Image Courtesy of Passenger

It looks like everyone’s favourite English singer-songwriter Passenger is heading back to Australia at the end of the year with plans to support his old mate Ed Sheeran. We haven’t covered a lot of Ed Sheeran on Timber and Steel despite his folk leanings but the thought of catching he and Passenger solo in stadium venues is very exciting.

They’ll also be joined in support by Timber and Steel favourite Foy Vance and drum and bass four piece Rudimental. Check out the full list of shows below:

Saturday 28th November – Suncorp Stadium, Brisbane, QLD
Wednesday 2nd December – Nib Stadium, Perth, WA
Saturday 5th December – AAMI Park, Melbourne, VIC
Wednesday 9th December – Allianz Stadium, Sydney, NSW

Mary Chapin Carpenter Announces Australian Tour

Mary Chapin Carpenter
Image Courtesy of Mary Chapin Carpenter

Legendary singer-songwriter Mary Chapin Carpenter has announced plans to visit Australia as part of her 2015 Acoustic World Tour. This will be Mary Chapin Carpenter’s first visit to Australia in over 10 years and will see her perform a series of intimate, acoustic performances. Tift Merritt has been announced as the support.

Check out the full list of dates below:

Thursday 27th August – Enmore Theatre, Sydney, NSW
Friday 28th August – Gympie Muster, QLD
Saturday 29th August – Whitlam Theatre, Revesby, NSW
Sunday 30th August – Wests New Lambton, Newcastle, NSW
Tuesday 1st September – Wests, Tamworth, NSW
Thursday 3rd September – Ulumbarra Theatre, Bendigo, VIC
Friday 4th September – Palais Theatre, Melbourne, VIC
Saturday 5th September – Caravan Music Club, Oakleigh, VIC

Listen to the New Claude Hay Single “Crossfire”

Claude Hay
Image Courtesy of Claude Hay

New South Wales based blues and roots singer Claude Hay recently released his brand new single “Crossfire”. This track is full of surf rock, roots and blues goodness and we think you’re going to like it. Take a listen below:

Claude Hay is about to head overseas for a European tour but has a handful of dates left before he goes. All of Claude Hay’s upcoming dates are here:

Thursday 7th May – The Hoey Moey, Coffs Harbour, NSW
Saturday 9th May – Sonny’s House of Blues, Brisbane, QLD
Friday 15th May – Lazybones Lounge, Marrickville, NSW
Saturday 16th May – Club Jervis, Jervis Bay, NSW
Sunday 17th May – Sydney Blues and Roots Festival, Windsor, NSW

Joan Baez Announces Australian Tour Dates

Joan Baez
Image Courtesy of Joan Baez

Folk music legend Joan Baez has announced plans to return to Australia with a series of tour dates this September and October. The tour, called An Evening with Joan Baez, follows on from Baez’s last Australian tour in 2013.

Check out the full list dates below – definitely not to be missed:

Thursday 17th September – Royal Theatre, Canberra, ACT
Sunday 20th September – Sydney Opera House, Sydney, NSW
Thursday 24th September – Arts Centre Hamer Hall, Melbourne, VIC
Sunday 27th September – Theatre Royal, Hobart, TAS
Wednesday 30th September – Perth Concert Hall, Perth, WA
Sunday 4th October – Entertainment Centre, Darwin, NT
Wednesday 7th October – Brisbane Concert Hall, Brisbane, QLD
Monday 12th October – Festival Theatre, Adelaide, SA

« Older entries

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 361 other followers

%d bloggers like this: