Listen to the New Single From The Stetson Family, “Brother”

The Stetson Family
Image Courtesy of The Stetson Family

Melbourne alt-country favourites The Stetson Family have just released their new single “Brother”.

Written by The Stetson Family frontwoman Nadine Budge, the track is filled with the band’s signature throwback country and Americana flavour.

Take a listen to “Brother” below:

To celebrate the release of “Brother” The Stetson Family have a bunch of shows and festival appearances coming up as well as a Monday night residency at The Retreat Hotel in Melbourne throughout October. The full list of remaining dates are here:

Monday 23rd October – The Retreat Hotel, Melbourne, VIC
Monday 30th October – The Retreat Hotel, Melbourne, VIC
Saturday 11th November – Healesville Music Festival, Healsville, VIC
Saturday 18th and Sunday 19th November – MountainGrass Festival, Harrietville, VIC
Friday 1st December – Theatre Royal, Castlemaine, VIC

Timber and Steel Video Premiere: “Something to Lose” from Rachel Baiman

Rachel Baiman
Image Courtesy of Rachel Baiman

American folk and old-time singer Rachel Baiman has been getting a bunch of buzz lately following the release of her excellent album Shame.

“I wasn’t necessarily trying to write songs that would be easy to listen to,” Baiman explained on Shame. “I wanted to write about reality, in all of it’s terror and beauty.”

The latest single from Shame is the melancholy “Something to Lose”. We’re extremely lucky to have the debut of a live video of “Something to Lose”, recorded as part of the StarHouse Concert Series in Boulder Colorado. Check it out below:

Rachel Baiman would be well known to Australian audiences as one half of 10 String Symphony. Next January the singer and multi-instrumentalist will be returning to our shores for an east coast tour, with pan-Pacific trio One Up Two Down in support.

The full list of dates are below:

Wednesday 3rd January – Junk Bar, Brisbane, QLD
Thursday 4th January – Megan Hall, Dorrigo, NSW
Friday 5th January – Upper Lansdowne Hall, Upper Lansdowne, NSW
Saturday 6th January – Thirroul Railway Institute Hall, Thirroul, NSW
Sunday 7th January -Metropole Guest House, Katoomba, NSW
Monday 8th January – Petersham Bowling Club, Sydney, NSW
Thursday 11th January – Spotted Mallard, Melbourne, VIC

Rodrigo y Gabriela Announce 2018 Australian Tour

Rodrigo y Gabriela
Image Courtesy of Rodrigo y Gabriela

Mexican instrumental virtuosos Rodrigo y Gabriela return to Australia next year for a series of dates, including an appearance at the 2018 WOMADelaide festival.

Rodrigo y Gabriela are celebrating the 10th anniversary of their self-titled breakthrough release so these shows are bound to be full of energy.

Check out the full list of Australian tour dates here:

Friday 9th March – WOMADelaide, Adelaide, SA
Saturday 10th March – Forum, Melbourne, VIC
Tuesday 13th March – Astor Theatre, Perth, WA
Thursday 15th March – Enmore Theatre, Sydney, NSW
Friday 16th March – The Tivoli, Brisbane, QLD

José González Announces Bluesfest Sideshows

Jose Gonzalez
Image Courtesy of José González

Swedish indie-folk singer-songwriter José González has this week announced headline shows when he’s in Australia for Bluesfest next year.

Along with his Bluesfest appearance González has also added shows in Canberra, Sydney and two in Melbourne. The full list of dates are below:

Thursday 29th March – Canberra Theatre, Canberra, ACT
Saturday 31st March – Sydney Opera House, Sydney, NSW
Sunday 1st April – Bluesfest, Byron Bay, NSW
Monday 2nd April – Melbourne Recital Centre, Melbourne, VIC
Tuesday 3rd April – Melbourne Recital Centre, Melbourne, VIC

First Aid Kit Announce Bluesfest Sideshows

First Aid Kit
Image Courtesy of First Aid Kit

Swedish folk duo First Aid Kit are returning to Australia next year for Bluesfest, and now it looks like we’re getting a couple of headline shows as well.

Sydney and Melbourne will be lucky enough to host First Aid Kit at the beginning of April.

The full list of dates for the tour are below along with First Aid Kit’s new video “It’s A Shame” which is the first taster for a new album due in 2018:

Thursday 29th March to Monday 2nd April – Bluesfest, Byron Bay, NSW
Tuesday 3rd April – Enmore Theatre, Sydney, NSW
Thursday 5th April – Croxton Bandroom, Melbourne, VIC

Justin Townes Earle Announces Final Melbourne Shows

Justin Townes Earle
Image Courtesy of Justin Townes Earle

Americana favourite Justin Townes Earle is rounding out his Australian tour this week with the announcement of two more Melbourne shows.

As well as all of the previously announced dates Justin Townes Earle will be performing at the Northcote Social Club on the 19th October, with Joshua Hedley and Lillie Mae in support, and then the Caravan Music Club on the 26th October with Joshua Hedley.

The full list of upcoming Justin Townes Earle dates are below:

Monday 16th October – Melbourne Recital Centre, Melbourne, VIC
Tuesday 17th October – Factory Theatre, Sydney, NSW
Thursday 19th October – Northcote Social Club, Melbourne, VIC
Friday 20th October – Meeniyan Town Hall, Meeniyan, VIC
Saturday 21st October – Theatre Royal, Castlemaine, VIC
Sunday 22nd October – Peppermint Bay Hotel, Hobart, TAS
Wednesday 25th October – Crown and Anchor, Adelaide, SA
Thursday 26th October – Caravan Music Club, Melbourne, VIC
Friday 27th October – Fremantle Town Hall, Fremantle, WA

My Nightingale Announce East Coast Tour

My Nightingale
Image Courtesy of My Nightingale

Brisbane indie-folk four-piece My Nightingale have just released their debut EP Folk Tales and are heading out on tour to help launch it. The EP is full of luscious harmonies and groovy soulful folk music which we’re really excited to see live.

“I wanted to create something that is honest and raw and that doesn’t just speak from the surface, it’s from a soul level,” lead singer and songwriter Elly Hoyt explained. “The process has been so much fun but also very scary. Playing original music, having something to really say and believe in takes guts.”

My Nightingale have already hit the road but still have dates in Queensland, New South Wales, the ACT, Victoria and Tasmania ahead of them. Check out the full list of dates below:

Sunday 15th October – Lind Lane Theatre, Nambour, QLD
Friday 20th October – Pop-Up at ANU, Canberra, ACT
Saturday 21st October – The Newsagency, Sydney, NSW
Friday 27th October – Illume at Killynaught, Boat Harbour, TAS
Saturday 18th November – The House with No Walls, Eumundi, QLD
Friday 24th November – Retreat Hotel, Melbourne, VIC
Saturday 25th November – Old Castlemaine Gaol, Castlemaine, VIC

Sam Outlaw Returns to Australia for December Tour

Sam Outlaw
Image Courtesy of Sam Outlaw

Americana favourite Sam Outlaw has announced plans to return to Australia this December for a small tour of New South Wales and Victoria.

Sam Outlaw will be touring his latest album Tenderheart and has invited Courtney Marie Andrews to join him in support (excluding the Kyneton show).

Check out the full list of dates below:

Saturday 2nd December – Coogee Diggers, Sydney, NSW
Sunday 3rd December – Camelot Lounge, Sydney, NSW
Wednesday 6th December – Caravan Music Club, Melbourne, VIC
Thursday 7th December – Spotted Mallard, Melbourne, VIC
Friday 8th December – Major Tom’s, Kyneton, VIC

Canadian Duo Twin Peaks Announce Australian Tour

Twin Peaks
Image Courtesy of Twin Peaks

Canadian folk duo Twin Peaks recently landed on our shores and have kicked off a massive tour that will take them up and down the East Coast for the next two months.

Hailing from British Columbia, Twin Peaks will be bringing their unique brand of indie-folk music to Australian audiences including an appearance at the Dorrigo Folk & Bluegrass Festival.

Check out the full list of remaining dates below:

Wednesday 11th October – Bella Union, Melbourne, VIC
Thursday 12th October – QEII Night Market, Albury, NSW
Friday 13th October – Smiths Alternative, Canberra, ACT
Saturday 14th October – Wingham Akoostik Music Festival, Wingham, NSW
Sunday 15th October – Wauchope Community Arts, Wauchope, NSW
Wednesday 18th October – Bellingen Brewery, Bellingen, NSW
Friday 20th October – Eat Street Markets, Brisbane, QLD
Saturday 21st October – Queen Street Mall, Brisbane, QLD
Friday 27th to Sunday 29th October – Dorrigo Folk & Bluegrass Festival, Dorrigo, NSW
Sunday 5th November – Jacaranda River Feast, Grafton, NSW
Tuesday 7th November – Red Gum BBQ, Red Hill, VIC
Wednesday 8th November – Wine Whiskey Women, The Drunken Poet, Melbourne, VIC
Friday 10th November – Piping Hot Chicken Shop, Ocean Grove, VIC
Sunday 12th November – Belbrea Winery, Bellbrae, VIC
Friday 17th November – Corporate Moose, Mildura, VIC
Sunday 19th November – Kingsbury Bowls Club, Kingsbury, VIC
Friday 24th November – The George Kerferd Hotel, Beechworth, VIC
Saturday 25th November – King Valley, VIC
Sunday 26th November – Hepburn Hotel, Hepburn Springs, VIC

Jordan Merrick Announces EP Launch Tour

Jordan Merrick
Image Courtesy of Jordan Merrick

Brisbane-based singer-songwriter Jordan Merrick will be releasing his new EP Songs From House Arrest and has announced plans to head out on tour to launch it.

The tour will take Merrick to Sydney, Brisbane, Melbourne and the Sunshine Coast – check out the full list of dates along with his latest single “Gypsy Diver” below:

Sunday 5th November – Gasoline Pony, Sydney, NSW
Sunday 12th November – Black Bear Lodge, Brisbane, QLD
Saturday 18th November – The Penny Black, Melbourne, VIC
Thursday 23rd November – Sol Bar, Sunshine Coast, QLD

« Older entries

%d bloggers like this: