Timber and Steel Premiere: “Names” by Mackenzie Shivers

Mackenzie Shivers
Image Courtesy of Mackenzie Shivers

We’re super chuffed to bring you the first look at New York based folk-pop singer-songwriter Mackenzie Shivers new video “Names”. The video was shot in Australia in the Blue Mountains by filmmaker Lâle Teoman while Shivers was in the country last April.

Just how this came about we’ll let Mackenzie Shivers explain:

“A couple of years ago, I found out about Caitlin Harnett through [Timber and Steel]. I fell completely in love with The River Runs North and was thrilled to see she was playing a show at NYC’s Rockwood Music Hall. I went to see the show (it was fabulous!) and met Caitlin and her friend Lâle Teoman, an actress and filmmaker from Sydney.

Caitlin, Lâle, and I all kept in touch after that via social media. So when I found out that I was going to be in Australia to see family last spring, I reached out to Lâle at her production company River Run Productions to see if she wanted to film a music video together. She said she was game, and we picked the song “Names” from my latest EP Living in My Head. We shot the entire thing in one day near her home in the Blue Mountains.

“Names” was written after a trip to Washington DC and finding the name of a family friend etched in stone at the Vietnam Memorial amongst 2-acres of other names. There was something very stirring about seeing all the beautiful cherry blossoms in the same vicinity as thousands upon thousands of names etched into the memorial. There was this incredible contrast of life and death that I found extremely moving. As the lyrics developed, “Names” turned into a love song – one of the few love songs I’ve written.

Lâle and I wanted to capture the dream-like state being in love and utilize the beauty of the Blue Mountains to their fullest. Lyrics “You by any other name would stay just as kind, you by any other name would be my love” are sung with both whimsy and certainty, birds and sunsets floating between frames. The Blue Mountains were the perfect backdrop.

I’m so proud of this video, and working with Lâle in Australia was in itself a dream come true. I hope you enjoy it – please let me know as soon as you can if you are interested in premiering it!”

Check out the video for “Names” here – let’s hope Mackenzie Shivers makes it back to Australia soon for some shows!

1 Comment

  1. June 9, 2017 at 10:17

    […] – Timber and Steel played a small part in getting “Names”, the new video from Mackenzie Shivers made. Details here […]


Leave a Reply

