Listen to the New Radical Face Single “Sunn”

Radical Face
Image Courtesy of Radical Face

American indie-folk singer Radical Face has dedicated the last eight years of his musical career working on his expansive The Family Tree album series culminating in this year’s amazing The Family Tree: The Leaves.

Now Radical Face has given us the first taste of his post-The Family Tree output with the release of his new single “Sunn”.

The track has more electronic and sampled elements than what we’ve come to expect from Radical Face but at its core is his amazing lyrics and songwriting.

“So this is the first song I’ve recorded since wrapping up The Family Tree project,” Ben Cooper, AKA Radical Face explained. “To go from 8 years of the same material to total freedom was pretty odd. I had no restrictions on how I produced it, or what I would talk about. I found myself just writing about where I’m at now, in my actual life, and not through characters or disguises.

“I’m producing the tracks entirely based on sounds that I like right now – drum samples from old records, pianos played with old mellotron master tapes, tracking vocals with almost-broken microphones. And this is the first song in an EP where none of the songs sound very similar. It’s felt both terribly freeing and a bit nervewracking. I welcome both things. I’m having fun in a way that I haven’t in a long time.”

Take a listen to “Sunn” below and let us know what you think:

2 Comments

  1. December 2, 2016 at 13:58

    […] – Radical Face released “Sunn”, his first recording since completing his The Family Tree project. Details here […]

  2. Karma said,

    June 3, 2017 at 05:48

    Puuuurty. Years ago I was hooked on their song “Welcome Home, Son.” Good to hear something new.


Leave a Reply

