Gillian Welch To Release Boots No. 1: The Official Revival Bootleg

Gillian Welch
Image Courtesy of Gillian Welch

It’s been twenty years since Gillian Welch released her landmark album Revival and to celebrate Welch will be releasing Boots No 1: The Official Revival Bootleg this Friday 25th November.

The album is personally curated and produced by Gillian Welch and David Rawlings and features demos, outtakes alternate mixes and 8 previously unreleased songs. We’ve already managed to have an advance listen and it’s pretty special.

“I’m happy that the songs hold up. That’s probably the thing I’m most proud of,” Welch explained of Revival. “There is that interesting moment in any writer’s first batch of songs or any writer’s first novel or anything, a filmmaker’s first movie that always seems to have something that is different from what comes after. Something happens in that first push. Maybe because you’re usually up against more resistance. But there is a purity or a diamond hardness to the first batch that doesn’t seem to happen again. And so Revival has that when I look at it. Maybe it’s lack of ego. You know, there really was no me. You know, the artist Gillian Welch didn’t really exist. And then after that, I did.”

Check out the track listing for the two disc Boots No 1: The Official Revival Bootleg below along with a stream of the track “Dry Town”:

Disc One
1. Orphan Girl (Alternate Version)
2. Annabelle (Alternate Version)
3. Pass You By (Alternate Version)
4. Go On Downtown (Revival Outtake)
5. Red Clay Halo (Revival Outtake)
6. By The Mark (Alternate Mix)
7. Paper Wings (Demo)
8. Georgia Road (Revival Outtake)
9. Tear My Stillhouse Down (Home Demo)
10. Only One and Only (Alternate Version)

Disc Two
1. Orphan Girl (Home Demo)
2. I Don’t Want to Go Downtown (Revival Outtake)
3. 455 Rocket (Revival Outtake)
4. Barroom Girls (Live Radio)
5. Wichita (Revival Outtake)
6. One More Dollar (Alternate Version)
7. Dry Town (Demo)
8. Paper Wings (Alternate Mix)
9. Riverboat Song (Revival Outtake)
10. Old Time Religion (Revival Outtake)
11. Acony Bell (Demo)

1 Comment

  1. November 25, 2016 at 11:15

    […] – The new Gillian Welch album Boots No. 1: The Official Revival Bootleg is released today. Details here […]

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: