Mumford & Sons Announce Third Studio Album Wilder Mind

Mumford and Sons
Image Courtesy of Mumford & Sons

The big news this morning is of course the return of Mumford & Sons with the announcement of their new album Wilder Mind. The album is due for release on the 1st May and was produced by James Ford (Arctic Monkeys, HAIM, Florence & The Machine) which promises a rockier direction for the band.

“Towards the end of the Babel tour, we’d always play new songs during soundchecks, and none of them featured the banjo, or a kick-drum,” Marcus Mumford explained. “And demoing with Aaron meant that, when we took a break, we knew it wasn’t going to involve acoustic instruments. We didn’t say: ‘No acoustic instruments.’ But I think all of us had this desire to shake it up. The songwriting hasn’t changed drastically; it was led more by a desire to not do the same thing again. Plus, we fell back in love with drums! It’s as simple as that.”

“It felt completely natural, though,” Ben Lovett added. “Like it did when we started out. It was very much a case of, if someone was playing an electric guitar, drums were going to complement that best; and, sonically, it then made sense to add a synth or an organ. We chose instruments that played well off each other, rather than consciously trying to overhaul it.”

The full track listing for Wilder Mind is below:

1. Wilder Mind Track listing:
2. Tompkins Square Park
3. Believe
4. The Wolf
5. Wilder Mind
6. Just Smoke
7. Monster
8. Snake Eyes
9. Broad-Shouldered Beasts
10. Cold Arms
11. Ditmas
12. Only Love
13. Hot

The announcement of Wilder Mind was coupled with a bunch of northern hemisphere Gentlemen of the Road shows. Australian Mumford & Sons dates are expected to be announced soon for later in 2015. Watch this space for more information as it comes to hand!

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: