Alabama Shakes Announce New Album Sound & Color

Alabama Shakes
Image Courtesy of Alabama Shakes

When Alabama Shakes burst onto the scene in 2012 with their retro roots rock album Boys & Girls I made the very difficult decision to not cover it – I made the call that Boys & Girls wasn’t “folk” enough for Timber and Steel. But almost every other folk blog covered the band and I regretted my decision – I wanted everyone to know how much I loved Alabama Shakes but I’d missed the boat.

Well I’m not going to make that mistake twice. Alabama Shakes have just announced the release of their second album Sound & Color which is due for release on the 17th April.

“We took our time to write this record, and I’m really glad we did,” Alabama Shakes’ front-woman Brittany Howard explained. “We were able to sit down and think about what’s exciting to us. This record is full of genre-bending songs.”

Alabama Shakes have been announced for Bluesfest this year and a sideshow in Sydney as well. The full list of dates, the album track listing and a stream of their new single “Don’t Wanna Fight” are below:

Thursday 2nd April – Enmore Theatre, Sydney, NSW
Friday 3rd and Saturday 4th April – Bluesfest, Byron Bay, NSW

1. Sound and Color
2. Don’t Wanna Fight
3. Dunes
4. Future People
5. Gimme All Your Love
6. This Feeling
7. Guess Who
8. The Greatest
9. Shoegaze
10. Miss You
11. Gemini
12. Over My Head

1 Comment

  1. February 20, 2015 at 14:39

    […] – Alabama Shakes have announced details of their new album Sound & Color. Details here […]

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: