Interview: Eleanor McEvoy On Tour In Australia

Eleanor McEvoy
Image Courtesy of Eleanor McEvoy

Interview reprinted with permission from Overheard Productions

Eleanor McEvoy landed in Australia this week on tour from now until … well, until Ireland warms up again in roughly six weeks’ time.

On St Patrick’s night, Monday 17 March 2014, Eleanor was a very special guest of Riogh and the Illawarra Folk Club at what’s starting to look a lot like a Paddy tradition in this south coast of New South Wales town centre. Accessible from anywhere and a short walk from the train station 😉

(Our correspondent Bill Quinn later that night ventured down the road to another raucous Irish venue, and couldn’t help but notice that, despite the number of prone young bodies decked out in over-sized corporate green Irish hats, the music on the tannoy was Canadian Scots.)

But before that, and after one or three very large jars of piping cold very special St Patrick’s Day tea, Bill spoke a little with Eleanor about the tour:

Eleanor McEvoy’s tour is in the country up to and including Fairbridge Folk Festival in late April. The full list of remaining tour dates are below:

Friday 21st March – Albert Park Yacht Club, Melbourne, VIC
Saturday 22nd March – Harvester Moon, Bellarine, VIC
Sunday 23rd March – St Cuthbert’s Chapel at Menzies Creek, Dandenong Ranges, VIC
Sunday 23rd March – Northcote Social Club, Northcote, VIC
Friday 28th March – Illawarra Folk Club, Wollongong, NSW
Saturday 29th March – Petersham Bowling Club, Petersham, NSW
Sunday 30th March – St David’s Church, Dee Why, NSW
Thursday 3rd April – South Coast Folk Club, Port Noarlunga, SA
Friday 4th April – HATS-Courthouse Cultural Centre, Auburn, SA
Saturday 5th April – The Song Room, Tanunda, SA
Sunday 6th April – Singing Gallery, McLaren Vale, SA
Thursday 10th April – Carrington Bowling Club, Newcastle, NSW
Sunday 13th April – Quarterdeck, Narooma, NSW
Thursday 17th to Monday 21st April – National Folk Festival, Canberra
Wednesday 23rd April – Rosie O’Grady’s, Perth, WA
Thursday 24th to Sunday 27th April – Fairbridge Folk Festival, Pinjarra, WA

1 Comment

  1. March 21, 2014 at 13:30

    […] “On St Patrick’s night, Monday 17 March 2014, Eleanor was a very special guest of Riogh and the Illawarra Folk Club at what’s starting to look a lot like a Paddy tradition in this south coast of New South Wales town centre” – Eleanor McEvoy chats to Bill Quinn. Interview here […]


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: