Mumford and Sons Announce Details of Their Second Album

Mumford and Sons
Image Courtesy of Mumford and Sons

Here it is kids – the full details of the second album from Mumford and Sons.

We already had the international release date – 24th September – but it looks like we’ll be getting it a little earlier in Australia with the 21st September on the local press releases.

We already guessed the title thanks to a cryptic video posted by the band two weeks ago – Babel

And now we have cover art (above) and a track listing:

1. Babel
2. Whispers In The Dark
3. I Will Wait
4. Holland Road
5. Ghosts That We Knew
6. Lover Of The Light
7. Lovers’ Eyes
8. Reminder
9. Hopeless Wanderer
10. Broken Crown
11. Below My Feet
12. Not With Haste

In the words of Mumford and Sons from their press release: “We are more than excited to release ‘Babel’ into the world. We had started writing new songs well before we got into the studio to record. At first, we peeled ourselves off the road quite reluctantly. We love playing live, obviously, but it had also become an important part of our creative process, we had been writing and rehearsing in soundchecks, and sort of ‘road-testing’ new songs on our very gracious audiences. But then we fell in love with recording again. The album started to come together, and with the help of Markus Dravs once more (and engineer Robin Baynton), we started to relish the challenge of making this album. As a band, we’ve never been closer or more collaborative, all working to our strengths. And so we feel that this record is a natural progression that we’re proud of, and we cannot wait to take it out on the road.”

Babel can be pre-ordered from the Mumford and Sons website from the 23rd July.

Stay tuned for more details.


  1. July 18, 2012 at 13:36

    […] you, like us, are hanging out for any new Mumford and Sons music since the announcement of their new album Babel then you’re in luck. The band’s collaboration with UK musician King Charles, “The […]

  2. July 20, 2012 at 15:23

    […] – After weeks of speculation Mumford and Sons revealed that the title to their second album will indeed be Babel. The cover art and track listing was also revealed with the album hitting stores on the 21st September. Details here. […]

  3. July 24, 2012 at 14:39

    […] be all over the announcement of the brand new Mumford and Sons album Babel. And if you read our piece on the announcement you’ll know that Babel is full of material that the band have been writing and performing on […]

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: