Timber and Steel’s Top Albums of 2010

Top Five

It’s that time of year when every music site, blog, publication and fan is busy writing their top album lists for 2010. And we here at Timber and Steel are no different. But rather than try and give you a definitive list we thought we’d let each of our contributors share with you their own personal Top Five Albums of 2010 – trust us, there would have been a lot of fighting otherwise. So without further ado, we give you Timber and Steel’s Top 5 Albums of 2010:

Chordsandcandles
Transition to Colour1. Transition to ColourMatt Corby. With his Jaw dropping live performances and his ability to silence a room or get them stomping along to one of his faster tracks, Matt Corby’s EP Transition to Colour has to be my number 1. His songwriting and emotion provoking vocals set him way and above the rest, and he is definitely someone to keep your eye on for the future.
The remaining four are in no particular order:
2. Kingdom of Our OwnMatthew and the Atlas
3. The Queen of the SultanAy Ducane
4. WildbloodThe October Game
5. New Moore IslandThe Mariner’s Children

Evan Hughes
I Speak Because I Can1. I Speak Because I CanLaura Marling Laura Marling really came into her own with this album showing a maturity that is well beyond her years. Her lyrics and musicianship show a depth only glimpsed at in her previous releases and every song is a gem.
2. Been ListeningJohnny Flynn
3. Flight of the CrowPassenger (and friends)
4. Basement BirdsBasement Birds
5. Down the WayAngus and Julia Stone

KT Bell
I Speak Because I CanI’m nothing if not predictable, and sure, they’re not all this year’s releases, but I got a hold of them all this year and they have been my soundtracks.
1. I Speak Because I CanLaura Marling
2. Sigh No MoreMumford & Sons
3. The Diary of a Falling ManAutumn Gray
4. With Emperor AntarcticaBoy & Bear
5. LungsFlorence & the Machine

Macka Jay
Been Listening1. Been ListeningJohnny Flynn. I loved this album from the first moment i heard it, amazingly combines a sense of play and a keen, observational lyrics. Incredible.
2. I Speak Because I CanLaura Marling
3. Armchair ApocryphaAndrew Bird
4. Down the WayAngus and Julia Stone
5. The Courage of OthersMidlake

Miladyred
Beat and Holler Like others I’m not entirely sure if a couple of these are releases for this year but this is the year that I really discovered them.
1. Beat & HollerMama Kin
2. Sigh No MoreMumford & Sons
3. Basement BirdsBasement Birds
4. With Emperor AntarcticaBoy & Bear
5. LungsFlorence & the Machine

Thom Owen Miles
The Wild Hunt1. The Wild HuntThe Tallest Man On Earth
2. The Violent BlueElectric President
3. I Speak Because I CanLaura Marling
4. The Big IslandMotel Motel
5. Die Stadt MuzikantenWoodpigeon

2 Comments

  1. December 17, 2010 at 14:43

    […] This post was mentioned on Twitter by Timber and Steel, miladyred. miladyred said: Timber and Steel's Top Albums of 2010: http://t.co/cIZcXZs […]

  2. December 30, 2010 at 19:53

    […] how I wish I discovered Frontier Ruckus prior to contributing my top 5 albums of 2010 to Timber & Steel. In all seriousness, after a couple of listens to this album I was willing to shove one or two of […]


Leave a Reply

