The Newest Folk Supergroup Tired Pony

Tired Pony

Not to be outdone by the likes of Monsters of Folk and Mt. Desolation members of Snow Patrol, REM, Editors and Belle & Sebastian, among others, have banded together to form their own folk supergroup. Named Tired Pony, the group features Gary Lightbody (Snow Patrol), Peter Buck (REM), Tom Smith (Editors), Troy Stewart (Snow Patrol touring band), Iain Archer (Snow Patrol collaborator) and Richard Colburn (Belle & Sebastian).

“I had no idea if the music was going to be country, folk, blues or whatever,” Peter Buck explained to, “I was prepared for a punk record, I brought my mandolin. As long as it was spontaneous and improvised, it sounded like a very exciting thing to do.”

You can listen to snippets of Tired Pony’s music on their MySpace (no full tracks unfortunately). The band’s debut album The Place We Ran From is available now.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: