New Bon Iver Video, “Beth/Rest”

Beth Rest
Image Courtesy of Bon Iver

I have a confession to make: when I first listened to Bon Iver’s self titled album I laughed when I heard closing track “Beth/Rest”. I couldn’t understand how this Phil Collins knock-off had managed to sneak its way onto an otherwise brilliant album. But like a lot of people the more I listened to it, the more it grew on me. Add to that seeing it live and loving it at the Sydney Opera House earlier this year I can comfortabley say I’m a fan of “Beth/Rest” now. It may not be my favourite track on Bon Iver but I no longer deem it skippable.

Bon Iver has just released the new video for “Beth/Rest” directed by frontman Justin Vernon himself. According to the press release: “It’s kind of about two people who are truly meant for each other and what happens to their essence. How they connect is some other thing that we don’t know how to really talk about”.

Watch “Beth/Rest” below. And for the record? I still think it sounds a little like a Phil Collins song. In a good way:

1 Comment

  1. October 19, 2012 at 13:25

    [...] – The brand new video from Bon Iver, for the Phil Collins-esque “Beth/Rest”, hit the web and was directed by frontman Justin Vernon. Details here [...]


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 328 other followers

