Track By Track: Autumn Lawn EP, Fanny Lumsden & The Thrillseekers

Autumn Lawn
Image Courtesy of Fanny Lumsden & The Thrillseekers

You’re going to see a lot of love for Fanny Lumsden & The Thrillseekers on Timber and Steel this week. Their brand new EP Autumn Lawn will be available from all of the usual outlets from this Friday 31st August. To launch that very same EP Fanny Lumsden & the Thrillseekers also have shows planned in Sydney, Melbourne and Adelaide over the coming weeks. So we thought the time was right to ask Fanny Lumsden to talk us through the Autumn Lawn EP for our latest Track by Track.

“Apricot Sunday” – It’s a string of images that I keep having of a lovely little orchard and a small town parade with floats going down the mainstreet. There is lots of lovely sunlight and for some reason I think its in North West of the US in a high rainfall area. However I wrote this song in the lounge room of my sharehouse in Surry Hills. I usually only ever understand what I wrote a song about a long time after I’ve written it. My Thrillseekers all play on this with pizzazz and a lot of the time when we play it I imagine us all in a really terrible film with fruit displays on our heads dancing calypso-ish and then driving in a car and not watching the road whilst a fake back ground whizzes past. This is nothing to do with the meaning of the song. Just the feeling. It’s merry.

“Firing Line” – Again is based on images. Forever stretching plains. Again written in a small room in a small terrace. Space issues. For those of you that know the story behind “The Cat Song” – “Firing Line” is a distant cousin. It’s really about watching and observing rather than being in it. How we keep kicking trying to be “ME” and then we end up as some combination of our parents and environment. Battle lost. Battle won. Leroy Lee features on this track on Banjo and Harmonica. He subbed in for a while with us over the summer until our current Banjoista-Ben was caught in the net.

“Shotgun” – “Shotgun” is perhaps the only song written about a subject or an event. It’s about my Uncle Ken who accidently shot his own toe off. No joke. Then he had to go to court because apparently one needs a licence to shoot am appendage off. Go figure. It’s a little cheek I suppose, about how when I tell this story it make my family sound as though they are living the hillbilly dream. Although a lot of “hillbilly qualities” are present to the eye of someone who hasn’t grown up in the bush it’s not really as extreme as it sounds. We have facebook and grew up with flikflak watches. This is a cracker to play live.

“Hello Bright Eyes” – This song was written when I was driving a Chaser bin (which is a tractor with a tailored trailor that follows the header to pick up the grain at harvest time) for a neighbour two summers ago. I was all day in lovely big paddocks and I think the sunlight made me a little vague. We recorded this one and “Firing Line” in the Blue Mountains with a Shetland pony looking through the window. Perfect setting to grab this track.

“Hail all ye Thrillseekers” – Band namesake. Song came first. The lyrics of this song were written maybe three or four years ago and then were put in the “deal with later” pile. One day late last year I began trawling through old lyrics and the particular scrap paper it was written on gave me a paper cut-so in revenge I revived it. Take that. The band really brought this song to life. Again the lyrics are what came out of images in my head so when ever I sing it I still see the dark track through the pine forrest, gumboots smashing to the ground with the weight of cement and furniture hanging from trees. The guitar solo/instrumentation part in this song is my favourite part in the whole EP.

Autumn Lawn EP will be available from the 31st August. The full list of dates for Fanny Lumsden & The Thrillseekers’ EP launch tour are below:

Thursday 30th August – Hellen Rose Schauersberger LabOratorium, Sydney, NSW
Saturday 1st September – Pure Pop Records, Melbourne, VIC
Sunday 2nd September – The Workers Club, Melbourne, VIC
Sunday 9th September – The Wheatsheaf Hotel, Adelaide, SA

1 Comment

  1. August 31, 2012 at 15:23

    […] “[Hello Bright Eyes] was written when I was driving a Chaser bin (which is a tractor with a tailored trailor that follows the header to pick up the grain at harvest time) for a neighbour two summers ago. I was all day in lovely big paddocks and I think the sunlight made me a little vague” – Fanny Lumsden & The Thrillseekers, Autumn Lawn EP. Track By Track here […]


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 340 other followers

