Review: Jordie Lane, Camelot Lounge, Sydney

Jordie Lane
Image Courtesy of Jordie Lane

Jordie Lane with The Falls
30th June 2012, Camelot Lounge
Sydney

There’s this wonderful little collection of venues that’s opened up in Marrickville in Sydney’s inner-west. Just a hop skip and a jump from Marrickville Road in any number of converted warehouses and factories now doubling as cosy music and art spots. The Factory Theatre is probably the most well known. The Red Rattler is another. And then of course there’s Camelot Lounge, the perfect cross between intimate music venue and gaudy, camel-obsessed-collector’s bedroom.

It was Camelot Lounge I found myself at on the last Friday of June to see Jordie Lane supported by local Sydney duo The Falls and once I’d perched myself at a table near the back (that’s where all the cool kids sit) and had my fill of mezze and beer I was definitely in the mood for some folk music.

I think at this point I know The Falls’ set back to front. I know what song they’ll start with (“Please”), what song they’ll end with (“Hollywood”) and what cover they’ll do (Tom Waits’ “I Want You”). I think I know all the words to their songs, definitely the choruses. Thanks to their wonderful Folk Club night at the Oxford Art Factory each Wednesday night I have probably seen the The Falls more than any other band in the last 12 months, a fact I’m more than happy to admit to given how big a fan I am. But it was really nice to see them in an environment where the audience wasn’t their’s and where to most people in the audience the songs were brand new. I could definitely see a buzz building within the crowd as The Falls made their way through their set and by the end I felt like they had gained some fans. It was obvious that the comfort level these guys have at Folk Club wasn’t there at Camelot Lounge but their beautiful songwriting and professional performance shone through. A great way to ease into the night.

It’s likely I’ve said this before but Jordie Lane really does epitomise everything I want in a folk singer. He’s got the look down (this night he was wearing his trademark fedora, a green velvet jacket and polka-dotted shirt). He’s a storyteller both during his songs and between them, to a point where he’ll often interrupt a musical intro to tell a tale that’s just come to him – I quite often bemoan in my reviews just how many modern artists neglect the between song banter, they should be taking queues from Jordie Lane. And then of course there’s Lane’s gorgeous songs.

Jordie Lane needs nothing more than his voice and his guitar on stage (there was nary a banjo in sight on this night). His fingerpicking style reminds me a little of Justin Townes Earle, the way he’s able to combine rhythm and melody in in the same movement, and his voice sounds as though it’s from another time. It’s no wonder Lane is playing Gram Parson’s in the upcoming musical Grievous Angel.

Highlights from Jordie Lane’s set for me included “Saint Mary’s Bells”, the song he dedicated to his Mum on Spicks and Specks a few years back, “Not From Around Here” and the cover of “Love Hurts” he performed with The Falls. But it was “Hollywood’s Got A Hold” which stole the show for me – the intro explaining the time he went looking for a sandwich in LA and ended up walking into an AA meeting through to the audience singing the chorus and filling the room with beautiful music.

If artist like Jordie Lane continue to make the trip to Marrickville to play at venues like Camelot Lounge then I think live music is far from dead in Sydney. A very special gig and once again a great example of the quality folk music this country can produce. Thank you Jordie Lane.

1 Comment

  1. July 13, 2012 at 15:20

    [...] “It’s likely I’ve said this before but Jordie Lane really does epitomise everything I want in a folk singer” – Jordie Lane, Camelot Lounge, Sydney. Review here [...]


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 319 other followers

